
3M™ DI-NOC™ vs. other architectural resurfacing options.
Weighing DI-NOC™ against Bodaq®, Belbien™, Benif™, Surfex, replacement millwork, stone, paint, or laminate? An honest comparison — built from each manufacturer’s own published documentation — of how the options perform on the criteria that decide a commercial project.
Every option changes the surface.
They differ in everything else.
When a commercial interior needs new surfaces, the finish itself is only half the decision. The other half is everything around it: how long the space is out of service, what documentation the specification needs, whether the result can be repeated across ten sites, and what happens when a surface is damaged in year three.
This page compares 3M™ DI-NOC™ architectural finishes with the other ways commercial projects typically resurface interiors — replacement millwork and natural materials, paint and coatings, new laminate, and other architectural films — category by category, on the criteria specifiers and owners actually decide on. Where a criterion depends on the specific product or project, it says so.

The look of the material, without rebuilding the room.
New millwork, solid stone, or timber delivers a genuine material — at the cost of fabrication lead time, demolition, structural weight, and a space out of service while it happens. For a ground-up build, that trade can make sense. For an occupied building, it is usually the whole problem.
A specified film reaches the same visual standard by resurfacing what is already there: the existing counter, wall, or column stays, and only its surface changes. With 900+ DI-NOC™ finishes in wood-grain, stone, marble, and metal looks, the specified appearance is achieved in place — typically phased after hours, without a strip-out. Where a project genuinely needs the physical material — a solid-stone transaction top, for instance — the honest answer is to use the material there and film the surfaces around it.

Paint changes the colour. A finish changes the material.
Paint and specialty coatings are the right tool for walls and ceilings that need colour. What they cannot do is make a laminate counter read as walnut, or a column read as marble — and a site-applied coating’s final quality depends on the applicator, the substrate, and the conditions on the day.
An architectural film is a factory-made product: the texture, gloss, and pattern are manufactured under controlled conditions and arrive documented — with a technical data sheet, product-specific fire-performance data, and a repeatable finish code a specifier can write once and hold across a portfolio. Specification documentation is available through our support for designers and specifiers.

Same idea — different depth of system.
Replacing laminate panels gets a new surface, but it is still joinery work: removal, fabrication, refitting, and edges that show their layers. Resurfacing the existing panel with film reaches the finish without the joinery — and can carry around curves and returns that sheet laminate cannot follow. On complex curved surfaces, applicable DI-NOC™ products can be formed to the geometry, confirmed per series and substrate.
DI-NOC™ is also not the only architectural film. Other manufacturers make them, and the format is broadly similar — what differs is the depth of the system: the breadth of the finish library, the published fire and environmental documentation, the manufacturer’s technical support, and the warranty structure behind the product. Any film under consideration deserves the same scrutiny: read the current technical data sheet, and confirm the specific product against the project’s requirements.
Twelve criteria that decide a surface specification.
How the options compare, category by category. Every project weighs these differently — the point is to weigh them deliberately.
| Criterion | 3M™ DI-NOC™ film | Replacement millwork / stone / timber | Paint & coatings | New laminate | Other surface films |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Finish breadth | 900+ finishes — wood-grain, stone, marble, metal, solid, textile looks | Limited by material sourcing, budget, and fabricator | Colour and sheen; no material texture | Wide pattern range; panel formats only | Varies by manufacturer and line |
| Specification documentation | Published TDS, guide specification, CSI 09 94 10 section | Shop drawings per fabricator; material certs vary | Product data sheets; finish quality is site-dependent | Published product data per manufacturer | Varies — review the specific product’s current TDS |
| Substrate compatibility | Applies over sound existing laminate, wood, metal, painted drywall, MDF — subject to substrate assessment | Replaces the substrate entirely | Most substrates, with priming | Requires removal or overlay of existing panel | Similar in principle; confirm per product |
| Fire-performance documentation | Documented: ASTM E84 — most products Class A; CAN/ULC-S102.2 for applicable products; confirmed per product and project | Depends on species, stone, and treatments specified | Depends on coating system specified | Depends on panel product specified | Varies by product; request current test data |
| Environmental documentation | VOC-tested per CDPH Standard Method (CA 01350, compliant as low-emitting); recycled-content series available; may support applicable LEED documentation | Varies by material source and certification | Low-VOC lines available; verify per product | Varies by manufacturer | Varies by manufacturer |
| Complex curves & forming | Applicable products can be formed to curved (3D) surfaces — confirmed per series, substrate, and geometry | Possible; custom fabrication cost and time | Follows any surface, colour only | Sheet formats; tight curves and returns are a limitation | Varies by product |
| Repeatability across sites | Specified finish code — the same finish, ordered again, site after site | Natural variation between lots and fabricators | Colour-matchable; texture and quality vary by applicator | Repeatable while the pattern remains in production | Repeatable within the product line |
| Repair strategy | Damaged areas typically recoverable or re-wrapped in the same finish; confirmed per surface | Patch, refinish, or replace the piece | Spot repaint; sheen and colour matching can show | Panel replacement, if the pattern is still made | Similar in principle; confirm per product |
| Installation phasing | Applied in place — typically after hours, area by area, no demolition or dust | Demolition, fabrication lead time, refit sequence | Fast per coat; cure times and odour to manage | Removal and refit per panel run | Similar in principle; crew skill varies |
| Occupied commercial environments | A core strength — spaces typically stay in service while work is phased around them | Usually requires closing the area | Workable with ventilation and scheduling | Localized closure per run | Similar in principle; confirm per project |
| Manufacturer support | 3M technical service, guide specifications, and an endorsed-installer programme | Fabricator-dependent | Manufacturer rep support varies | Manufacturer support varies | Varies by manufacturer |
| Warranty documentation | Published limited product warranty; terms vary by series and region — confirmed per project. Expected performance life (up to 12 years, indoor vertical) is published separately and is not the warranty | Fabricator and material warranties vary | Coating warranties vary by system | Manufacturer warranties vary | Varies — request the current warranty document |
Category comparisons above are stated at the category level. DI-NOC™ entries reflect 3M’s current published documentation; product-specific values — fire classification, warranty terms, forming capability — are always confirmed for the specific finish and project before specification. Browse the finish range itself through the Finish Library, or see how the finishes perform across commercial applications.
DI-NOC™ vs. Bodaq® vs. Belbien™ vs. Benif™ — from their own documentation.
Considering Bodaq, Belbien, Benif, or another interior film? Fair enough — they are the names you’ll meet. The comparison below is built exclusively from each manufacturer’s own published technical documentation, cell by cell. Where a manufacturer’s documentation is silent on a criterion, the table says so — and on a specification, silence is itself an answer.
| Per published documentation | 3M™ DI-NOC™ | Bodaq® (Hyundai L&C) | Belbien™ (C.I. Takiron) | Benif™ (LX Hausys) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire documentation for Canadian projects | ASTM E84 — most products Class A, and CAN/ULC-S102.2 classification for applicable products — the Canadian surface-burning standard, named in the TDS | ASTM E-84 Class A/I stated; no CAN/ULC surface-burning classification cited in its Technical Data Bulletin | UL-723 (ASTM E-84) Class A stated; no CAN/ULC surface-burning classification cited in its technical book | No fire test standard cited in the general TDS; flame-retardant behaviour depends on which adhesive variant is specified |
| Published product warranty | Formal published limited-warranty document — interior terms up to 10 years by series (published for the U.S.; Canadian terms confirmed per project) | No warranty document or duration published in its Technical Data Bulletin | 2 years from receipt, against manufacturing defects — and conditional on purchase through its distributor and certified installation | No warranty stated in the manufacturer’s TDS |
| Performance life published in the TDS | Expected performance life up to 12 years (indoor, vertical) — printed in the technical data sheet itself | None stated in its Technical Data Bulletin | None warranted — its technical book twice notes data “are not guaranteed values” | None stated; TDS lists a 2-year shelf life for unapplied film |
| Finish range, as documented | Over 900 finishes — stated in the current 3M TDS | Not stated in its Technical Data Bulletin | 650+ patterns per its North American distributor’s technical book | ~500 finishes per distributor literature; not stated in the manufacturer TDS |
| Low-emitting certification (North American standard) | Tested to CDPH Standard Method (CA Specification 01350) — compliant as low-emitting, per the TDS | Korean eco-certifications (Korea Eco-Label, KAA Atopy mark, KF mark); CDPH not cited | “Efforts to reduce VOC”; formaldehyde and chlorpyrifos free; CDPH not cited | None cited in the TDS |
| Marine certification | IMO certification / USCG Type Approval for select series, per the TDS | None cited in its Technical Data Bulletin | DNV GL CE marking for shipbuilding interior use (EU scheme), per its technical book | None cited |
| Specifier infrastructure | 3M-authored guide specification under CSI 09 94 10, global 3M Technical Service, and a manufacturer-endorsed installer programme | Certified-installer network; no published CSI guide specification found | Distributor spec-data sheet; no manufacturer CSI guide specification found | Installer guidance in TDS; no published CSI guide specification found |
| Documented installation constraints | Applied per 3M application guides across commercial interior conditions; primers/techniques defined per substrate | Optimal application 12–38°C; adhesive reaches full strength in 3–7 days, per its bulletin | CM, FM and Silky Suede series cannot be stretched, per its general notes | Requires 15–25°C held for 72 hours before and 48 hours during/after installation; overlap application method required, per its TDS |
Where the decision usually lands: on documented fire performance for Canadian code, published warranty backing, TDS-stated performance life, North American low-emitting certification, and specification infrastructure, the manufacturer documentation above speaks for itself. DIY and craft wrap vinyls (TeckWrap and similar consumer brands) are a different product class again — marketed for furniture refreshes, with no published commercial fire-test or specification documentation, which places them outside consideration for code-governed commercial work.
Sources: 3M™ DI-NOC™ Technical Data Sheet (Rev. S) and 3M guide specification; Bodaq® Technical Data Bulletin (Hyundai L&C, bodaq.com); Belbien™ Technical Data book 2021–22 ver.01 (C.I. Takiron / IDS, North American distributor); BENIF™ Technical Data Sheet, Jan 2023 (LX Hausys, lxhausys.com); Surfex/Samsung Interior Film published resources (samsungfilm.co.uk); 3M Declaration of Performance per DI-NOC TDS Rev. T (EN 13501-1). All retrieved September 2026. Trademarks belong to their respective owners; figures reflect each document as published and may change with manufacturer revisions — always confirm against the current document for the specific product and project.
Comparing the options, answered.
Is 3M™ DI-NOC™ cheaper than replacing millwork or stone?
In many cases resurfacing costs less than replacement, because the existing counter, wall, or column stays in place and only its surface changes — avoiding demolition, fabrication, and the material cost and weight of new stone or millwork. Actual cost depends on scope, substrate condition, and finish selection, and is estimated per project.
How does architectural film compare with paint or specialty coatings?
Paint changes colour; a specified architectural film changes the material read of a surface — wood-grain, stone, marble, or metal texture — as a factory-made, repeatable product with published technical documentation. Film also carries product-specific fire-performance documentation, where a site-applied coating’s finish quality depends on the applicator and conditions on the day.
What about other architectural surface films?
Several manufacturers make architectural finish films, and documentation depth, finish range, and support vary by product line. We work with 3M™ DI-NOC™ because of its published technical data, breadth of finishes, and the manufacturer support behind it — but any film under consideration should be evaluated against the same criteria on this page, using that product’s current technical data sheet.
Does DI-NOC meet commercial fire requirements?
3M publishes fire-performance documentation for DI-NOC: under ASTM E84, most products achieve a Class A rating for interior applications, and CAN/ULC-S102.2 classification applies to applicable products. Ratings are product-specific, not universal — the specific finish is confirmed against the project’s code requirements using current 3M documentation before it is specified.
Can a damaged film surface be repaired?
Typically, yes — a damaged area can be recovered or a panel re-wrapped in the same specified finish, because the finish is a repeatable manufactured product rather than a one-off fabrication. That also means the same finish can be matched later across additional sites or phases. Repair approach is confirmed for the specific surface and finish.
How does 3M™ DI-NOC™ compare with Bodaq® interior film?
Both are 0.2 mm self-adhesive architectural films with ASTM E84 Class A ratings stated in their documentation. The differences show up in the paperwork a commercial project needs: 3M’s TDS additionally documents CAN/ULC-S102.2 classification for applicable products, CDPH (CA 01350) low-emitting compliance, IMO/USCG marine approvals, a stated expected performance life of up to 12 years, and a formal published warranty programme — none of which appear in Bodaq’s published Technical Data Bulletin. For Canadian, code-governed work, that documentation gap is usually the deciding factor.
Is Belbien™ or Benif™ a better alternative to DI-NOC™?
They are credible films with real strengths — Belbien publishes marine (DNV GL) certification and a 650+ pattern range. But their own documents set the limits: Belbien’s published manufacturer warranty is 2 years against defects, conditional on distributor purchase and certified installation, and its technical book notes its data “are not guaranteed values”; Benif’s TDS cites no fire test standard, states no warranty, and requires 15–25°C held for three days before installation. 3M publishes a longer warranty programme, a TDS-stated 12-year expected performance life, Canadian fire classification, and a CSI guide specification — the deeper specification system.
What about Surfex (Samsung) interior film?
Surfex is Samsung’s interior film, distributed mainly in the UK and Europe. Its published documentation cites CE/UKCA marking and an EN 13501-1 fire classification of B-s2,d0 — the European scheme only, with no ASTM E84 or CAN/ULC classification published for North American code review. Even on the European scale where both brands publish, 3M’s Declaration of Performance lists DI-NOC™ at B-s1,d0 — a stricter smoke classification than Surfex’s s2. For a Canadian commercial project, DI-NOC™ is documented against the standards a Canadian authority actually reviews.
Can DIY wrap vinyl (TeckWrap and similar) do the same job?
For a rental-friendly furniture refresh, DIY films have their place. For commercial work they are a different product class: consumer wrap vinyls publish no commercial fire-test reports, no CSI specification documentation, and no commercial warranty programme — so they cannot be specified into code-governed spaces like corridors, elevators, healthcare, or hospitality interiors. Architectural films exist precisely to carry that documentation.

Compare the options against your actual scope.
Send the project — the surfaces, the constraints, the finish direction — and we’ll give you a straight read on where a specified film is the right call, and where it isn’t.